jessicawritesnow

Just another WordPress.com site

St. Francis wrote a Prayer that helps me Help You…if You choose it. June 30, 2012

Filed under: humor,life,Love,philosophy,Serenity,Thank you,Uncategorized — jessicawritesnow @ 11:56 pm
Tags: , ,

Jessica Lintor “Beginning of Time”

Okay folks, yes this man was a Catholic Preacher and monk. He started the Franciscan order in which their primary function was to live in poverty and weirdly enough show love and affection towards animals. St Francis also started a women’s order and another group of which I know not a frucking thing. But when the grass grew too high that I could no longer see the holes gophers made and I lost one shoe I reflected that perhaps… and off I started to fall off the end of the earth into a sea of ink on fire with that light purple shade–Ahhhhh, I dug in my mental heels into the gray matter…so I contemplated as the sun went down, and the mosquitos I noticed ate my skin for dinner, how much better can life really become for a girl like me.  “I’m a smartass”, I thought to myself, and “I’m witty and I’m pithy,”- none of those words comforted me. I thought of the word, “pillow” or “river” or “sea-bed” or “God”. I stopped. My family never attended Church; my swimming meets always maintained a higher priority. The only time I spoke the word “God” happened when I learned that neat phrase by the loved and never forgotten Nietzsche “God is dead”. Not so neat I learned later on after all those days chanting that phrase. My Dad always reminded me as if it were a reminder, that I would learn to regret saying it. I asked him why. He just replied, “You will, and you’ll know why.” Their be and went my religious training until much later. 

Thank my stars that I learned this prayer after the starvation of my much-needed nutrition deprived spirit:   http://youtu.be/0VSyuar6oF8 Sarah M. sings

Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi:

[Lord], make me an instrument of your peace.

Where there is hatred, let me sow love;

where there is injury,pardon;

where there is doubt, faith;

where there is despair, hope;

where there is darkness, light;

and where there is sadness, 

Grant that I may not so much seek

to be consoled as to console;

to be understood as to understand;

to be loved as to love.

For it is in giving that we receive;

it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;

 

3 Responses to “St. Francis wrote a Prayer that helps me Help You…if You choose it.”

  1. jmsabbagh Says:

    Wonderful prayer ,My regards


Please respond...

